Morris Named to Davey O’Brien Award Watch List


Morris who threw career-best 3,345 yards in 2012, recently turned heads at the Manning camp.

Courtesy UM

FORT WORTH, Texas – Miami Hurricanes senior Stephen Morris was one of 34 quarterbacks named to the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List announced Wednesday.

Morris is one of four ACC signal-callers on the list, joining Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Bryn Renner (UNC) and Logan Thomas (Virginia Tech).

Morris, who won the skills competition at the Manning Passing Academy last week, started all 12 games under center a season ago, throwing for a career-best 3,345 yards and 21 touchdowns. His 3,345 passing yards in 2012 were the fifth-most in program history, while his 3,415 yards of total offense set a new single-season mark at Miami. He also became the first QB in Miami Hurricanes history to post multiple 400-yard passing games in a single season.

Two Miami quarterbacks have won the Davey O’Brien Award – Vinny Testaverde (1986) and Gino Torretta (1992). Miami is one of eight schools with multiple Davey O’Brien Award winners.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Mon., Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Mon., Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced Thu., Dec. 12, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Season tickets for the 2013 football season are on sale now for as low as $98. To purchase season tickets, call the UM Athletic Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 or buy online at

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @MiamiHurricanes, and check out the official football blog,


Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player in college football)

Duke Johnson

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Duke Johnson

Stephen Morris

John Mackey Award (top collegiate tight end)

Clive Walford

Rimington Trophy (top collegiate center)

Shane McDermott

Ray Guy Award (top collegiate punter)

Pat O’Donnell

Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman)

Brandon Linder

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver in college football)

Phillip Dorsett

Davey O’Brien Award

Stephen Morris

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.