Rion Brown Earns ACSMA Third Team All-ACC

Robert Mayer-USA TODAY Sports

Miami senior caps incredible regular season with this honor.

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – University of Miami senior Rion Brown has been voted to the All-ACC Third Team, as announced Monday by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

In his senior season with the Canes, Brown averaged 16.1 points, 5.4 rebounds and 1.7 assists in 35.6 minutes per game in ACC play. The native of Hinesville, Ga., hit 44.4 percent (100-225) of his shots from the field and 34.5 percent (40-116) of his attempts from long distance. He led the Canes in scoring nine times during conference play.

Brown ended the season as the ACC’s eighth-best scorer, seventh in field goal percentage, eighth in 3-point percentage, tied for eighth in 3-pointers made per game and ninth in minutes played.

A team captain and Miami’s statistical leader as a senior, Brown was Miami’s seventh man just one season ago. Brown’s improvement from 6.3 points per game a season ago to 16.1 per game this year was the third-best among current league players. He also improved his rebounding from 1.8 to 5.4 boards per game, and his minutes increased from 20.3 to 35.6 this season. He also improved his field goal shooting from 38.8 to 44.4 percent.

Brown grabbed seven or more rebounds in four ACC games this season and notched 20+ points in eight games as a senior, after just twice as a junior.

Brown is the sixth ASCMA all-conference selection for the Canes under head coach Jim Larrañaga, joining Shane Larkin (2012-13 first team), Kenny Kadji (2011-12 third team, 2012-13 second team) and Durand Scott (2011-12, 2012-13 honorable mention).

Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association All-ACC Teams

First Team
Jabari Parker, Duke
T.J. Warren, NC State
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
K.J. McDaniels, Clemson

Second Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Lamar Patterson, Pittsburgh
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
Rodney Hood, Duke
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina

Third Team
Olivier Hanlan, Boston College
Joe Harris, Virginia
Rion Brown, Miami
Dez Wells, Maryland
Daniel Miller, Georgia Tech

Honorable Mention
Eric Atkins, Notre Dame
Talib Zanna, Pittsburgh
Aaron Thomas, Florida State
Akil Mitchell, Virginia
Jerami Grant, Syracuse
Ryan Anderson, Boston College

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.