NCAA Coral Gables Regional Field Announced

Richard Lewis/Miami Athletics

Miami to host No. 2 Texas Tech, No. 3 Columbia and No. 4 Bethune-Cookman.

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami Hurricanes will host the 25th NCAA Regional in program history beginning this Friday, and will be joined at Alex Rodriguez Park at Mark Light Field by second-seeded Texas Tech, third-seeded Columbia and fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman.

Miami found out its postseason fate a day early, when the team was selected as one of 16 Regional hosts Sunday night. The Hurricanes, who finished the season with a 41-17 overall record, earned the second ACC Regular Season Championship in program history with a 24-6 record in league play.

The Hurricanes have not missed the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship since 1972 – a stretch of 42 consecutive seasons – and own an all-time record of 117-43 (.731) in Regional play.

"It’s a credit to our administration to give us an opportunity to compete at that level, to our players and our coaches to be able to keep that string going," head coach Jim Morris said of the program’s postseason streak. "It’s an amazing thing.

Miami will open its postseason with fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman, who earned a berth by capturing the 2014 MEAC Championship. The Wildcats finished the regular season with a 26-31 record and a 14-10 record in conference play. Miami split its two games with the Wildcats this spring, falling 7-3 on March 11 and capturing a 10-1 win on April 2.

Second-seeded Texas Tech finished the regular season with a 40-18 overall mark, including a 14-10 record in Big 12 play. The Hurricanes have battled the Red Raiders only once in history, capturing a 13-0 victory on May 23, 1998 in the Coral Gables Regional.

Third-seeded Columbia made its first trip to Coral Gables in 2013, when Miami captured back-to-back wins in a midweek pair with the Lions. The Ivy League champions finished 29-18 and won their conference with a 15-5 league record.

ACC cohorts Florida State (Tallahassee, Fla.) and Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.) were also announced among the 16 Regional hosts on Sunday.  Overall, seven teams from the ACC were included in the field of 64: Miami, Florida State, Virginia, Maryland, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Clemson.

Season-ticket holders have the ability to secure their seat locations for this series. To do so, click here to log into your account, and follow the on-screen instructions.

Hurricane Club members have priority to purchase All-Session tickets before the general public. A limited amount of Reserved Seating is available to Hurricane Club members beginning at Noon on Tuesday, May 27. Priority to purchase tickets will end at 5 p.m. Wednesday or until the Reserved Seating is sold out. After 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Reserved Seating will be sold to the general public, if available.

General Admission seating will be available to the general public on Monday, May 26. Click here for tickets.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.

Join State of The U

You must be a member of State of The U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at State of The U. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.