clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Morris, Hurns Accept Invites to East-West Shrine Game

Hurns 19 yards shy of setting UM single-season receiving record

Brad Barr-USA TODAY Sports

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes senior WR Allen Hurns and senior QB Stephen Morris have accepted invitations to play in the 89th East-West Shrine Game.  The game will be played Jan. 18, 2014, at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg.

Hurns and Morris will be the 45th and 46th Miami Hurricanes, respectively, to play in the East-West Shrine Game. Hurns is the first Canes WR to play in the game since LaRon Byrd in 2012, while Morris is the first Canes QB to play since Ken Dorsey in 2003.

Hurns, who was a second-team All-ACC selection by both ACSMA and the league’s head coaches, is currently enjoying one of the greatest receiving seasons in program history. The senior leads Miami in both receptions (60) and receiving yards (1,138). He is only the fourth player with a 1,000-yard receiving season in school history and 19 yards shy of breaking the school single-season receiving yards mark. Currently, Hurns ranks seventh in Miami history in both career receptions (119) and career receiving yards (1,867) and eighth in career receiving TDs (14).

A third-team All-ACC choice, Morris has thrown for 2,868 yards and 21 TDs through 12 games. For the second straight season, Morris has posted four 300-yard passing games. The Miami native ranks third all-time in Miami history with 7,736 passing yards and 49 passing TDs. Morris is the only QB this season to throw a 50+ yard pass in nine different games.

No. 25 Miami (9-3) will play No. 18/16 Louisville (11-1) in the 2013 Russell Athletic Bowl on Dec. 28 in Orlando. Tickets, which are priced at $77 and $82, can be purchased through the UM Ticket Office online at, in-person at BankUnited Center (M-F 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.) or by phone at 1-800-GO-CANES.

Miami is also hosting BankUnited #CanesFest Family Friday Bowl Practice from 5-7 p.m. Friday at Cobb Stadium. Admission is free. Sebastian the Ibis, Miami cheerleaders and the Sunsations will be at practice. Bounce houses will be on site for the kids, who can also take their photo with Santa. The Hurricanes will also be collecting toys for "Toys For Tots". Fans in attendance will also have the chance to purchase Russell Athletic Bowl tickets.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @MiamiHurricanes, and check out the official football blog,


1976      Ernie Jones, DB

1977      Eddie Edwards, DE

1983      Mark Rush, RB

Mark Cooper, OL

1984      Jay Brophy, LB

Glenn Dennison, TE

1986      Kevin Fagan, DL

1987      Gregg Rakoczy, C

1989      Cleveland Gary, FB

1990      Bernard Clark, LB

Bobby Harden, DB

Greg Mark, DL

1991      Wesley Carroll, WR

Mike Sullivan, OL

1992      Leon Searcy, OL

1993      Ryan McNeil, CB

Darrin Smith, LB

Lamar Thomas, WR

Gino Torretta, QB

1994      Darren Krein, OLB

Kevin Patrick, DL

Dexter Seigler, CB

1995      Chris T. Jones, WR

CJ Richardson, SS/FS

Dennis Erickson, Head Coach

2000      Ty Wise, C

Michael Boireau, DL

2001      Al Blades, FS

James Jackson, RB

Andre King, WR

2002      Joaquin Gonzalez, OL

2003      Ken Dorsey, QB

Todd Sievers, K

2004      Jarrett Payton, RB

2005      Santonio Thomas, DL

2006      Rocky McIntosh, LB

2007      Tyrone Moss, RB

Baraka Atkins, DL

2010      Javarris James, RB

AJ Trump, OL

2011      Graig Cooper, RB

2012      Chase Ford, TE

LaRon Byrd, WR

Micanor Regis, DL

Tyler Horn, C

2013      Brandon McGee, DB

2014      Allen Hurns, WR

Stephen Morris, QB