clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jim Larrañaga named ACC Coach of the Year!

To no one's surprise Coach L picks up some much deserved hardware.


Courtesy UM

LEWISVILLE, N.C. – Miami’s Jim Larrañaga, whose Hurricanes surprised the Atlantic Coast Conference by winning their first 13 Conference games and their first-ever ACC regular season title, is the 2012-13 ACC Coach of the Year. Larranaga received 75 of 77 votes, in balloting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

Former ACC Coach of the Year Award winners Mike Krzyzewski of Duke and Roy Williams of North Carolina each received one vote.

Under Larrañaga, Miami (24-6) had its most-successful regular season, tying the school record for wins. The Canes finished 14-1 at home, where they played five games before sold-out crowds.

Larrañaga said, “Although being Coach of the Year is a great honor, especially being chosen amongst a host of great coaches in the ACC, this is really a team honor. The success of a coach is based on the success of his team, and I've got great players and they're a real joy to be around."

Larrañaga, 63, is in his second season as Miami’s 12th head coach. Prior to joining the Hurricanes, Larranaga spent 14 seasons at George Mason University, where he led the Patriots to the 2006 Final Four. He also spent 11 seasons at Bowling Green and two seasons at American International. In 29 seasons as a head coach, the 1971 Providence College graduate has a career record of 514-353.

About the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

ACC Coach of the Year Voting

Jim Larrañaga, Miami 75 votes

Mike Krzyzewski, Duke 1 vote

Roy Williams, North Carolina 1 vote