clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC Coaches honor Scott, Larkin, & Larranaga.

ACC writers may have picked Erick Green for ACC POY, but Shane Larkin most impressed ACC Coaches.


GREENSBORO, N.C. - Miami senior Durand Scott has been voted the Atlantic Coast Conference Basketball Defensive Player of the Year, UM sophomore guard Shane Larkin, who led the Hurricanes to their first Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season and tournament championships, has been voted the ACC Player of the Year, and Jim Larrañaga has been named the 2013 ACC Basketball Coach of the Year, by the league's head coaches.

No surprises here. Good to see Larkin's stunning performance in the ACC Tournament earned him the nod for POY. Scott and Larranaga had previously picked up the same honor via the media.

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
(With votes received)

Durand Scott, Sr., Miami (3)
Jontel Evans, Sr., Virginia (2)
Lorenzo Brown, Jr., NC State (1)
Julian Gamble, Sr., Miami (1)
Joe Harris, Jr., Virginia (1)
Kenny Kadji, Sr., Miami (1)
Mason Plumlee, Sr., Duke (1)
Michael Snaer, Sr., Florida State (1)
Okaro White, Jr., Florida State (1)

2013 Coaches ACC Player of the Year
(With votes received)

Shane Larkin, So., Miami (6)
Joe Harris, Jr., Virginia (3)
Erick Green, Sr., Virginia Tech (2)
Mason Plumlee, Sr., Duke (1)

2013 ACC Coach of the Year
(With votes received)

Jim Larrañaga, Miami (9)
Tony Bennett, Virginia (1)
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke (1)
Roy Williams, North Carolina (1)