Shane Larkin Named Lute Olson Player of the Year

Mike Ehrmann

Courtesy UM

Story Link:

Fri., April 5, 2013

Shane Larkin Named Lute Olson Player of the Year
He’s first recipient of Lute Olson Award in program history

ATLANTA - The ACC Player of the Year added more hardware Friday. Sophomore guard Shane Larkin was named the Lute Olson National Player of the Year at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

The sophomore, who was selected to the Lute Olson All-America team, is the first recipient of the Lute Olson Award in Miami history.

Larkin was instrumental in Miami’s run to the Sweet 16. The Orlando, Fla., native led the Canes in scoring (14.5 ppg), assists (164), steals (71) and 3-point percentage (.406). A finalist for the Cousy Award, Larkin’s stellar play helped Miami accomplish several program firsts, including rising to No. 2 in the pools, beating No. 1 Duke and winning both the ACC regular season championship and the ACC Tournament championship.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.

Shane Larkin's 2012-13 Awards
Lute Olson National Player of the Year
AP Second Team All-American
John Wooden All-American
Bob Cousy Award finalist (top 5)
Naismith Player of the Year candidate (top 30)
Wooden Award finalist (top 15)
Third Team All-American - The Sporting News
Second Team All-American - NABC
Lute Olson All-American
Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American
USBWA All-District IV Team
ACC Tournament MVP
ACC Player of the Year (Coaches)
ACC All-Tournament First Team
All-ACC First Team (Coaches)
All-ACC Defensive Team (Coaches)
All- ACC First Team (ASCMA)
All-ACC Defensive Team (ASCMA)
ACC Player of the Year - Sports Illustrated (Seth Davis)
Second Team All-American - ESPN (Jason King)
ACC Player of the Year - ESPN (Jason King)
All-ACC First Team - ESPN (Jason King)
Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week - Feb. 4
ACC Player of the Week - Feb. 4


We at SOTU are not responsible for the content posted in this section. I mean, we're responsible for the good stuff that gets posted in this section. That was totally us. Beyond that, we take no responsibility whatsoever.