clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

McDermott Named to 2013 Rimington Trophy Watch List

New, comment

Miami's stellar junior center poised for a huge year.


Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes junior center Shane McDermott is one of 44 players named to the 2013 Rimington Trophy spring watch list, released by the trophy’s selection committee. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate center in NCAA Division I FBS.

McDermott is one of five ACC centers on the list, joined by Russell Bodine (North Carolina), Jay Finch (Georgia Tech), Macky MacPherson (Syracuse) and Bryan Stork (Florida State).

An All-ACC honorable mention selection in 2012 by the league coaches, McDermott started all 12 games at center for the Hurricanes. He anchored the offensive line that paved the way for the ACC’s third-best passing offense (295.4) and fifth-best total offense (440.2). As a redshirt freshman in 2011, he saw action in 10 games, allowing no sacks and registering zero penalties on the season.

The Lake Worth, Fla., native was awarded the Walter Kichefski Endowed Football Scholarship at the 2013 UM Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and he will graduate this summer with his bachelor’s degree.

Miami’s Brett Romberg won the Rimington Trophy in 2002 after contributing the Miami’s 34-game winning streak from 2000-2002. He never allowed a sack at center and led an offensive line that helped produce three 1,000-yard rushers – James Jackson, Clinton Portis and Willis McGahee.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-America center pick from four existing All-America teams: American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). The Rimington Trophy presentation will be held Jan. 11, 2014, at Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb.

The trophy is presented annually by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska’s Dominic Raiola, Ohio State’s LeCharles Bentley, Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan’s David Baas and LSU’s Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota’s Greg Eslinger, West Virginia’s Dan Mozes, Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs, Penn State’s A.Q. Shipley, Florida’s Maurkice Pouncey and TCU’s Jake Kirkpatrick.


The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit