clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

O’Donnell Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List

Lake Worth, Fla., native spent previous four seasons at Cincinnati.

Joel Auerbach

Courtesy UM

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Miami Hurricanes punter Pat O’Donnell is one of 25 players on the 2013 Ray Guy Award Watch List, the Augusta Sports Council announced Wednesday. The Ray Guy Award honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

O’Donnell is one of only three ACC punters on the preseason list, joining Duke’s Will Monday and North Carolina’s Thomas Hibbard.

One of Miami’s newest additions, O’Donnell, a native of Lake Worth, Fla., spent the previous three seasons as the starting punter for the Cincinnati Bearcats. In 2012, he was a second-team All-BIG EAST selection, averaging 41.8 yards per punt. In 2011, he was a first-team All-BIG EAST performer, posting 43.8 yards per punt. As a graduate student, he will be immediately eligible for the 2013 season.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct.25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on Nov. 8. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live Dec. 12 during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

Season tickets for the 2013 football season are on sale now for as low as $98. To purchase season tickets, call the UM Athletic Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 or buy online at


Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player in college football)

Duke Johnson

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Duke Johnson

Stephen Morris

John Mackey Award (top collegiate tight end)

Clive Walford

Rimington Trophy (top collegiate center)

Shane McDermott

Ray Guy Award (top collegiate punter)

Pat O’Donnell