clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dorsett Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Dorsett led Canes with 842 receiving yards in 2012

Steve Mitchell-US PRESSWIRE

Courtesy UM

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes junior receiver Phillip Dorsett has been named to the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, announced Tuesday by Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation. Dorsett is one of 10 ACC receivers on the preseason watch list.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of more than 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers.

Dorsett played in all 12 games at receiver and punt returner in 2012, making 10 starts. A third-team All-ACC selection by Phil Steele, he led the Hurricanes with 842 receiving yards and four TDs on 58 catches and ranked second on the team with 21 plays of 25+ yards. He also recorded seven receptions of 40+ yards, including two TD receptions of 60+ yards.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented Dec. 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be broadcast at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 18, 2013, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Search Committee. The three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25, 2013. For more information on the Biletnikoff Award candidates, visit the Foundation web site at

Season tickets for the 2013 football season are on sale now for as low as $98. To purchase season tickets, call the UM Athletic Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 or buy online at


Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player in college football)

Duke Johnson

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Duke Johnson

Stephen Morris

John Mackey Award (top collegiate tight end)

Clive Walford

Rimington Trophy (top collegiate center)

Shane McDermott

Ray Guy Award (top collegiate punter)

Pat O’Donnell

Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman)

Brandon Linder

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver in college football)

Phillip Dorsett