clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Morris Named to Manning Award Watch List

Morris also on Davey O’Brien, Maxwell watch lists


Courtesy UM

NEW ORLEANS – Miami Hurricanes senior Stephen Morris was one of 30 quarterbacks named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. Morris has now been named to the Davey O’Brien, Maxwell and Manning award watch lists, as well being an Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nominee.

This year’s list of quarterbacks was selected in conjunction with the release of ESPN’s new Total Quarterback Rating (QBR) – the top 30 returning quarterbacks according to the QBR make up the watch list. The winner will be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Total QBR measures a quarterback’s contributions to scoring on each play (passing, rushing, sacks, fumbles, and penalties) accounting for game context (down, distance, yard line, time remaining, and score) and adjusted for opponent strength. It is based on a 0-100 scale and 50 is average.

Morris is one of three ACC signal-callers on the list, joining Tajh Boyd (Clemson) and Bryn Renner (UNC) and Logan Thomas. This year’s watch list includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Mountain West Conference leads the way with six honorees, while the Southeastern Conference has five quarterbacks on the list and the Pac-12 adds four.

Morris, who won the skills competition at the Manning Passing Academy last month, started all 12 games under center a season ago, throwing for a career-best 3,345 yards and 21 touchdowns. His 3,345 passing yards in 2012 were the fifth-most in program history, while his 3,415 yards of total offense set a new single-season mark at Miami. He also became the first QB in Miami Hurricanes history to post multiple 400-yard passing games in a single season.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. Last year’s winner was Texas A&M star freshman Johnny Manziel, who led the nation in QBR last year.

ESPN will release the Total QBR for all quarterbacks over the past nine seasons prior to the start of the 2013 schedule.

To purchase season tickets, call the UM Athletic Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 or buy online at


Paul Hornung Award

Duke Johnson

Maxwell Award

Duke Johnson

Stephen Morris

John Mackey Award

Clive Walford

Rimington Trophy

Shane McDermott

Ray Guy Award

Pat O’Donnell

Outland Trophy

Brandon Linder

Davey O’Brien Award

Stephen Morris

Doak Walker Award

Duke Johnson

Walter Camp Player of the Year

Duke Johnson

Manning Award

Stephen Morris