clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

McDermott Named to 2014 Rimington Watch List

Senior center was also on 2013 spring list.

Streeter Lecka

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes senior center Shane McDermott was named to the 2014 Rimington Trophy spring watch list, released Monday by the trophy’s selection committee. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate center in NCAA Division I FBS.

A 2013 All-ACC third-team selection, McDermott started 11 games at center, missing two games due to injury. He helped anchor Miami’s offensive line that paved the way for the Hurricanes offense that averaged 425.8 yards of total offense and 33.8 points per game. As a sophomore in 2012, McDermott started all 12 games at center, en route to All-ACC honorable mention.

Miami’s Brett Romberg won the Rimington Trophy in 2002 after contributing the Miami’s 34-game winning streak from 2000-2002. He never allowed a sack at center and led an offensive line that helped produce three 1,000-yard rushers – James Jackson, Clinton Portis and Willis McGahee.

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised more than $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. He became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The University of Miami has launched the $7 million Football Victory Fund to address the most important needs of the football program. There are a variety of ways to contribute to the Football Victory Fund as well as to Hurricanes Athletics. For more information on how you can donate and details of the pending projects, please call the Hurricane Club at 305-284-6699 or visit