clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine Miami Hurricanes Named to Phil Steele’s Preseason All-ACC Teams

Duke Johnson, Denzel Perryman tabbed first-team.

Joel Auerbach

Courtesy UM

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Nine Miami Hurricanes were named to Phil Steele’s Preseason All-ACC teams, released Wednesday by Phil Steele’s 2014 College Football Preview.

Junior RB Duke Johnson and senior LB Denzel Perryman were named to the first team, while sophomore WR Stacy Coley, junior OT Ereck Flowers and senior DE Anthony Chickillo were named to the second team. Coley, who also tabbed to the third team as a punt returner, was the only the Hurricane to earn preseason honors on multiple teams.

Joining Coley on the third team were senior WR Phillip Dorsett and senior C Shane McDermott. Senior TE Clive Walford and junior DB Tracy Howard were named to the fourth team.

A second-team All-ACC performer in 2013, Johnson rushed for 920 yards and six TDs in eight games before suffering a season-ending ankle injury. The Miami native enters his junior season with 1,867 career rushing yards in 20 games.

Perryman, a first-team All-ACC selection and All-America honorable mention (, led the Hurricanes with 108 tackles in 13 games at outside linebacker.

As a freshman in 2013, Coley played in all 13 games, making seven starts at receiver. He led the team with 1,461 all-purpose yards and was the only player in FBS to score a TD four ways (rushing, receiving, kick return, punt return).

Miami (9-4, 5-3 ACC) opens the 2014 season Sept. 1 against new ACC member Louisville at 8 p.m. on ESPN. Secure your seats to Miami’s home games vs. Florida State and North Carolina (Homecoming) today with a Two-Game Mini-Plan. Plans start at just $108 and include the same seat to both games plus a complimentary hat ($30 value). For more information or to order online, visit

The University of Miami has launched the $7 million Football Victory Fund to address the most important needs of the football program. There are a variety of ways to contribute to the Football Victory Fund as well as to Hurricanes Athletics. For more information on how you can donate and details of the pending projects, please call the Hurricane Club at 305-284-6699 or visit

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.


First Team

RB – Duke Johnson

LB – Denzel Perryman

Second Team

WR – Stacy Coley

OT – Ereck Flowers

DE – Anthony Chickillo

Third Team

WR – Phillip Dorsett

C – Shane McDermott

PR – Stacy Coley

Fourth Team

TE – Clive Walford

DB – Tracy Howard