clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chickillo Named to 2014 CFPA Watch List

Miami DL is one of 40 FBS defensive linemen named to the 2014 list

Joel Auerbach

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes senior Anthony Chickillo is one of 40 FBS defensive linemen named to the 2014 CFPA Defensive Linemen Trophy Watch List. Chickillo is one of only seven ACC players on the preseason list.

The Tampa, Fla., native Chickillo started all 13 games at defensive end for the Hurricanes in 2013, recording 46 tackles, 7.5 tackles-for-loss, 3.5 sacks and seven QB hurries. Chickillo has started 34 consecutive games for the Hurricanes over the span of the last three seasons.

Miami's Leonard Hankerson won the 2010 CFPA Wide Receiver of the Year Award and Pat O'Donnell won the 2013 CFPA Punter of the Year Award.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.

About College Football Performance Awards
The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA has received praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football.

CFPA is now in its seventh season of player and team performance recognition. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.