clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Denzel Perryman Named to Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Big things are expected from the President in his senior year, Perryman now has two award watch lists to climb.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. - Miami Hurricanes senior Denzel Perryman is one of 24 FBS linebackers named to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, announced Thursday by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

A 2013 All-ACC first-team selection, Perryman started all 13 games at outside linebacker for the Hurricanes in 2013, registering a team-leading 108 total tackles including 69 solo stops. In addition to earning All-America Honorable Mention honors from, Perryman was the recipient of the Hurricanes' 2013 Hard Hitter Award and Defensive MVP award.

Past Hurricane winners of the Nagurski Trophy include defensive lineman Warren Sapp (1994) and linebacker Dan Morgan (2000).

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. The FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by Florida East Coast Railway. Maryland's Randy White, a member of the FWAA's 1974 All-America team and a College Football Hall of Famer, will be honored.

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame. Pittsburgh tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.