clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Crawford Nominated for 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Junior led team with 12 rushing TDs in 2013, moved to safety in 2014

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sport

Courtesy UM

NORTHBROOK, Ill. – Miami Hurricanes junior safety Dallas Crawford is one of a record-breaking 182 student-athletes nominated for the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®.

For 23 years, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has served as one of the most coveted and prestigious off-the-field honors in college football. The award recognizes players whose charitable involvement and community service contributions stand out among all other student-athletes participating in the sport.

Seven Miami Hurricanes have been named to the prestigious Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® - Robert Bass (1993), Tony Coley (1996), Ryan Clement (1997), Nate Brooks (1998), Joaquin Gonzalez (2001), Mike James (2012) and Stephen Morris (2013).

Crawford, one of 90 FBS nominees and one of 12 from the ACC, moved to safety in the spring after making six starts at running back as a sophomore in 2013. He rushed for 558 yards and led the team with 12 rushing touchdowns a season ago.

A native of Fort Myers, Fla., Crawford has served as the project manager for Miami’s annual Marrow Donor Drive for each of the last three years. In 2004, the UM Marrow Donor Drive saw more than 200 new registrations. He has served as a youth football instructor during the Hurricanes’ “Deserve Victory” tour throughout Miami-Dade and Broward counties. He is also the football team’s representative for Autism Speaks Miami Walk and is the 2014 SAAC representative.

“Year after year, the ‘good works’ associated with this impressive group of student-athletes continue to inspire and raise the bar for future nominees,” said Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory and a member of the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. “Allstate is proud to be a part of an award that recognizes the importance of giving back to the communities where we live, work and cheer on game day.”

Comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA, the final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September. From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2014 Good Works Team.®

The 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Bruce Feldman (Fox Sports), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Ithaca College head coach Mike Welch; 1987 AFCA President and former head coach at Brigham Young University LaVell Edwards; and Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory.

Once the final team members are announced in September, fans are encouraged to visit the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website on, featuring profiles and images of the players, for the opportunity to vote for the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.