clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Johnson Among Nation’s Best RBs on Doak Walker Watch List

Miami native has 1,867 career rushing yards in 20 games

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Courtesy UM

DALLAS – Miami Hurricanes junior running back Duke Johnson was named as a preseason candidate for the 2014 Doak Walker Award, announced Thursday by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Johnson is one of only three ACC running backs on the list, joining Pitt’s James Conner and Virginia’s Kevin Parks. Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The candidates were nominated by their universities.

Johnson, a second-team All-ACC performer in 2013, rushed for 920 yards and six TDs in eight games before suffering a season-ending ankle injury. The Miami native enters his junior season with 1,867 career rushing yards in 20 games. Last month, Johnson is also on the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award and CFPA Running Back Trophy.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists Nov. 18, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced Nov. 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning Dec. 1 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2014 Doak Walker Award will be announced live Dec. 11 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2015.

The award, in its 25th year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Miami (9-4, 5-3 ACC) opens the 2014 season Sept. 1 against new ACC member Louisville at 8 p.m. on ESPN. Secure your seats to Miami’s home games vs. Florida State and North Carolina (Homecoming) today with a Two-Game Mini-Plan. Plans start at just $108 and include the same seat to both games plus a complimentary hat ($30 value). For more information or to order online, visit

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.


Anthony Chickillo, DE

CFPA Defensive Line Trophy

Stacy Coley, WR/KR

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile)

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

CFPA Wide Receiver Trophy

Matt Goudis, PK

CFPA Placekicker Trophy

Ladarius Gunter, DB

CFPA Defensive Back Trophy

Duke Johnson, RB

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Doak Walker Award (best running back)

CFPA Running Back Trophy

Shane McDermott, C

Rimington Trophy (nation’s best center)

Denzel Perryman, LB

Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Rotary Lombardi Award

Butkus Award

CFPA Linebacker Trophy

Clive Walford, TE

John Mackey Award (Outstanding collegiate tight end)