clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Add Another: Duke Johnson on Walter Camp Award Watch List

Johnson was 2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American

Joel Auerbach

Courtesy UM

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Miami Hurricanes junior running back Duke Johnson is one of 50 players to watch for the 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Johnson, a 2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American, is one of six ACC players on the list.

Johnson, a second-team All-ACC performer in 2013, rushed for 920 yards and six TDs in eight games before suffering a season-ending ankle injury. The Miami native enters his junior season with 1,867 career rushing yards in 20 games. This summer, Johnson has already been named to the watch lists for the Maxwell Award (college player of the year) and Doak Walker Award (best running back).

In all, 42 schools are represented on the list with Alabama having three players. There are 33 offensive players (16 quarterbacks, 8 receivers, 7 running backs, and 2 offensive linemen) and 17 from the defensive side of the ball (7 defensive backs, 5 defensive lineman, and 5 linebackers).

"We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation," Foundation president James Monico said. "This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football."

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November.  The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live Thu., Dec. 11, on ESPN’s SportsCenter.  The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Please note: Appearing on the preseason Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Walter Camp award or be named to the All-American team.

Miami (9-4, 5-3 ACC) opens the 2014 season Sept. 1 against new ACC member Louisville at 8 p.m. on ESPN. Secure your seats to Miami’s home games vs. Florida State and North Carolina (Homecoming) today with a Two-Game Mini-Plan. Plans start at just $108 and include the same seat to both games plus a complimentary hat ($30 value). For more information or to order online, visit

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.


Anthony Chickillo, DE

CFPA Defensive Line Trophy

Stacy Coley, WR/KR

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile)

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

CFPA Wide Receiver Trophy

CFPA Kick Returner Trophy

Matt Goudis, PK

CFPA Placekicker Trophy

Ladarius Gunter, DB

CFPA Defensive Back Trophy

Duke Johnson, RB

Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Doak Walker Award (best running back)

CFPA Running Back Trophy

Shane McDermott, C

Rimington Trophy (nation’s best center)

Denzel Perryman, LB

Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Rotary Lombardi Award

Butkus Award

CFPA Linebacker Trophy

Clive Walford, TE

John Mackey Award (Outstanding collegiate tight end)