clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Perryman Earns Spot on CFPA Watch List

Miami had a player named to all three defensive player watch lists


Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes senior Denzel Perryman is one of 40 FBS linebackers selected to the 2014 CFPA Linebacker Trophy Watch List.  Miami is one of only five FBS programs with a player named to all three defensive player watch lists.

"Congratulations to Denzel Perryman on earning a spot on the 2014 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Perryman has the potential to become the third CFPA winner at Miami."

A 2013 All-ACC First Team selection, Perryman started all 13 games at outside linebacker for the Hurricanes, registering a team-leading 108 total tackles including 69 solo stops. In addition to earning All-America, Honorable Mention honors from, Perryman was the recipient of the Hurricanes 2013 Hard Hitter Award and Defensive MVP award.

Previously, Ladarius Gunter was named to the 2014 CFPA Defensive Back Trophy Watch List, while Anthony Chickillo was named to the 2014 CFPA Defensive Lineman Trophy Watch List.

Miami's Leonard Hankerson won the 2010 CFPA Wide Receiver of the Year Award and Pat O'Donnell won the 2013 CFPA Punter of the Year Award.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.

About College Football Performance Awards
The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA has received praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football.

CFPA is now in its seventh season of player and team performance recognition. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.