clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Canes Football holds 2015 Awards Banquet

See all the award winners from the end of year awards for the Miami Hurricanes

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Courtesy UM

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The Miami Hurricanes held its 2015 Canes Football Awards Show on Sunday night at the Maurice Gusman Concert Hall located inside the Frost School of Music.

Former Miami offensive lineman and current analyst on the Hurricane Sports Radio Network Don Bailey, served as the awards show’s emcee. The show opened with the top 10 plays of the 2015 season:

2015 Miami Hurricanes Top 10 Plays

10. Kicker Michael Badgley ties a school record with a 57-yard field goal vs. Georgia Tech.
9. Safety Jamal Carter forces a fumble following a big hit during the Hurricanes’ trip to FAU.
8. Cornerback Artie Burns hauls in an interception near the endzone against Nebraska.
7. Wide receiver Rashawn Scott drags in his football for a first half score at Pittsburgh to give Miami a 17-0 lead.6. Cornerback Corn Elder’s interception and kicker Michael Badgley’s game-winning kick in overtime hand Miami a thrilling 36-33 win.
5. Wide receiver Stacy Coley gives Miami a 24-23 lead at Florida State following a diving grab in the endzone.
4. Running back Mark Walton breaks three tackles en route to an a second half touchdown in the rain against Georgia Tech.
3. Defensive lineman Ufomba Kamalu strips the ball then races to the endzone against Georgia Tech.
2. Wide receiver Rashawn Scott hauls in an incredible 58-yard touchdown reception against Florida State.
1. Miami cornerback Corn Elder’s 75-yard touchdown run over Duke hands the Hurricanes one of the most memorable victories in school history.

The Hurricanes coaching staff handed out 25 annual player awards. Sophomore quarterback Brad Kaaya was named the Jack Harding Team Most Valuable Player following an incredible 2015 season where he led the ACC in passing yards per game.

Offensive Player of the Year went to sophomore running back Joe Yearby after he led the team in rushing, finishing with 939 yards on the ground. Defensive Player of the Year honors went to senior defensive lineman Ufomba Kamalu.

Freshman running back Mark Walton was named the team’s Newcomer of the Year.
Third-team All-ACC kicker (Coaches) and Lou Groza Award Semifinalist Michael Badgley was named Special Teams MVP.

Senior wide receiver Herb Waters was the recipient of the Plumer Award for Leadership, Motivation and Spirit. Senior linebacker Raphael Kirby received the Melching Leadership Award. Both awards are voted on by the team.

The program also saw cornerback Artie Burns receive the second annual Kelly UTough Player of the Year Award.

At the end of the night, interim head coach Larry Scott thanked the senior class and all 19 seniors were presented with their framed jersey.

The Hurricanes closed the regular season by winning four of their last five games and finished with an 8-4 overall record and a 5-3 mark in the ACC. Miami will take on Washington State in the 2015 Hyundai Sun on Saturday, December 26. Kickoff is set for 2 p.m.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at

2015 Miami Hurricane Award Winners
Hard Hitter Award: Deon Bush
Kelly UTough Award: Artie Burns
The Mariutto Family Scholar Athlete Award: Braxton Berrios
Community Service Man of the Year Award: Dallas Crawford
Strength Training Athlete of the Year: Herb Waters
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award: Gage Batten
Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player: Ufomba Kamalu and Rashawn Scott
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award: Calvin Heurtelou
U of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award: Herb Waters
Training Room Comback Player of the Year: Hunter Knighton
Hurricane Media "Good Guy" Award: Tracy Howard
Captain’s Awards: Brad Kaaya, Raphael Kirby, Dallas Crawford
Plumer Award: Herb Waters
Melching Leadership Award: Raphael Kirby
U Respect Award: Earl Moore
Scout Team Player of the Year: Offense: Collin Alford
Scout Team Player of the Year: Defense: Gerald Willis
Newcomer of the Year Award: Mark Walton
Defensive Most Valuable Player: Ufomba Kamalu
Offensive Most Valuable Player: Joe Yearby
Special Teams MVP: Mike Badgley
Jack Harding Team Most Valuable Player: Brad Kaaya

Our take: the end of year awards are a great thing for any team. But, for the 2015 Miami Hurricanes, who fought through plenty of adversity and rallied around each other to save a season that could have fallen completely apart, this was a great celebration of the accomplishments of the team.

Congrats to all.

Go Canes