McClellan On Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List


CORAL GABLES, Fla. – University of Miami senior shooting guard Sheldon McClellan has been named to the midseason watch list for the national player of the year, the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Monday. He is one of 20 total players, including one of four ACC players, on the list. McClellan has posted the eighth-best shooting percentage (52.9%) in the country among guards, and has the top shooting percentage among guards in the ACC, according to stats on on Jan. 25. McClellan’s 2-point shooting percentage is 61.0 percent this season. The native of Houston has posted a true shooting percentage of 66.3 percent, good for 22nd in the country, and has the 25th-best offensive rating in the country, according to McClellan is 10th in the ACC in scoring in league games, seventh in free throw percentage and tied for sixth in steals. McClellan is also currently on two other national player of the year early-season watch lists: Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year and Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award. The awards will be presented at the College Basketball Awards gala in Oklahoma City on April 11, 2016, at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Access Sports, a non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, will serve as host for the gala. Funds from the gala are used to support youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training. The USBWA, comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites, will select the recipients of the awards. This will be the first time the women’s college player of the year will be featured at the gala. Oscar Robertson Trophy (Men's National Player of the Year) Grayson Allen, Duke Kris Dunn, Providence Kahlil Felder, Oakland Yogi Ferrell, Indiana Buddy Hield, Oklahoma Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame Brice Johnson, North Carolina Jalen Jones, Texas A&M Sheldon McClellan, Miami Monte Morris, Iowa State Georges Niang, Iowa State Gary Payton II, Oregon State Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas Ben Simmons, LSU Melo Trimble, Maryland Tyler Ulis, Kentucky Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa Denzel Valentine, Michigan State Fred VanVleet, Wichita State Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Miami Hurricanes Athletics