clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miami Baseball's Collins Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalist

Richard Lewis/UM Athletics

Courtesy UM

DURHAM, N.C. – Junior Zack Collins was among the 25 amateur baseball players selected as semifinalists for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announcedWednesday.

One of the nation’s most talented sluggers, Collins leads the third-ranked Hurricanes in home runs (12), RBI (52), on-base percentage (.540), slugging percentage (.630) and walks (66). A 2016 first-team All-ACC selection at catcher, Collins ranks among the nation’s active career leaders in home runs (38, fourth), RBI (176, fourth) and walks (165, first).

Collins became the first Miami player to earn back-to-back spots on the All-ACC First Team since Jon Jay (2005, 2006) when he was selected for the honor in late May.

Collins’ .364 average is the eighth-highest in the ACC entering the NCAA postseason, while his 66 walks and .540 on-base percentage lead all ACC players. His .630 slugging percentage is the third-best mark in the conference, and his 52 RBI are tied for ninth-most in the ACC.

Collins, who is also a semifinalist for the 2016 Dick Howser Trophy (top college player) and Johnny Bench Award (top college catcher), is aiming to become just the second Golden Spikes winner in program history; Pat Burrell previously won the award in 1998.

USA Baseball officials will announce the finalists for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award on Monday, June 13.  To select the finalists, the list of semifinalists is sent to a voting body consisting of past Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and select current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2016.  This announcement officially marks the opening of voting for amateur baseball fans from across the country on As part of the selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names.  Voting will be open untilWednesday, June 8.

The 2016 Golden Spikes Award winner will be named on Thursday, June 30, at a presentation in Los Angeles.  The finalists and their families will be honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Dinner that evening at the Jonathan Club in downtown Los Angeles.

Last year, University of Arkansas’ Andrew Benintendi took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

The remaining timeline for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award announcement is:

· Wednesday, June 1: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists named – voting opens

· Wednesday, June 8: Semifinalist voting closes

· Monday, June 13: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists named – voting opens

· Friday, June 24: Finalist voting closes

· Thursday, June 30: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award trophy presentation

The complete 2016 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School

Seth Beer, OF, Fr., Clemson

Jake Burger, 3B, So., Missouri State

C.J. Chatham, SS, Jr., Florida Atlantic

Zack Collins, C, Jr., Miami

Will Craig, 1B, Jr., Wake Forest

Brett Cumberland, C, So., California

Nick Feight, C, So., UNC-Wilmington

Jameson Fisher, C/IF, R-Jr., Southeastern Louisiana

Anfernee Grier, OF, Jr., Auburn

Thomas Hackimer, P, Sr., St. Johns

Dakota Hudson, P, Jr., Mississippi State

Connor Jones, P, Jr., Virginia

Eric Lauer, P, Jr., Kent State

Kyle Lewis, OF, Jr., Mercer

Brendan McKay, IF/P, So., Louisville

Sheldon Neuse, 3B, Jr., Oklahoma

AJ Puckett, P, Jr., Pepperdine

Heath Quinn, OF, Jr., Samford

Troy Rallings, P, Sr., Washington

Corey Ray, OF, Jr., Louisville

Nick Senzel, 3B, Jr., Tennessee

Jordan Sheffield, P, R-So., Vanderbilt

Logan Shore, P, Jr., Florida

Boomer White, IF, Jr., Texas A&M

Kyle Wright, P, So., Vanderbilt

About Golden Spikes Award

Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2015 Golden Spikes Award winner was Andrew Benintendi of the University of Arkansas.  Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Kris Bryant (’13), Mike Zunino (’12), Trevor Bauer (’11), Bryce Harper (’10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Buster Posey ('08), David Price (’07), Tim Lincecum (’06), Alex Gordon (’05), Jered Weaver (’04), Rickie Weeks (’03) and Mark Kotsay (’95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell (’98), Robin Ventura (’88), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (’85), Dave Magadan (’83), Terry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Horner (’78).  For more information, please visit  Fans can follow the Golden Spikes Award on Twitter @USAGoldenSpikes.

About USA Baseball

USA Baseball is the national governing body for the sport of baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee and the World Baseball Softball Confederation.  The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic, Premier12 and Pan Am teams (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 15U and 12U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women’s National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year.  The organization is responsible for the continued proliferation and health of the sport, and leads a number of amateur initiatives including PLAYBALL and Pitch Smart.  USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country.  For more information, please visit the organization’s official websites:,,, and