clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Canes QB Brad Kaaya named to Davey O'Brien Award Watchlist

New, comments

Another award following the Canes franchise QB this season.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday morning, Miami Hurricanes QB Brad Kaaya was named to the Davey O'Brien Award Watchlist.

This is just the latest award watchlist to include Kaaya. He was previously named to the Maxwell Award Watchlist, along with RB Joseph Yearby.

The Davey O'Brien award is given annually to College Football's best Quarterback. Information about the award direct from the Davey O'Brien website:

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O'Brien award enters its 40th year in 2016, having first been awarded in 1977. Clemson QB Deshaun Watson won this award in 2015.

The Miami Hurricanes have had players win this prestigious award previously. QB Vinny Testaverde was the recipient in 1986, and QB Gino Torretta was the recipient in 1992. Both Testaverde and Torretta won the Heisman Trophy in the same season as the O'Brien Award.

This is just another accolade for the talented Kaaya. He's unquestionably one of the best QBs in America, and highly respected. Canes fans, and college football fans around the country, should be excited to see what the talented junior can achieve in the 2016 season.

Go Canes!