clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl-ing: Miami Hurricanes Alumni Voted to the 2018 Pro Bowl

It’s great to be a Pro Bowl Cane!

NFL: Houston Texans at Jacksonville Jaguars Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The honor of being named to the Pro Bowl has taken a hit as big as former Buffalo Bills punter Brian Moorman took almost a decade ago. However, being selected to the NFL’s version of an all-star game still remains a noteworthy accomplishment. On Tuesday evening a group of University of Miami football alumni were among a list of players named to the 2018 Pro Bowl roster. These notable ProCanes have been making noise throughout the 2017 regular season, earning a praise in the form of an spot on the all-star team.

Calais Campbell

To date this season, there has been only three games in which Campbell did not record a sack. Meaning, Campbell has dragged down a quarterback in 12 games so far this season, with two games remaining. In his ninth year in the NFL, Campbell has enjoyed his the best season of his career, after leaving Arizona this past offseason to sign with Jacksonville in free agency. Relocating back to the state of the Florida has helped the defensive end post career-bests, with 14.5 sacks, three forced fumbles and one touchdown. Campbell broke Jacksonville’s single-season sack record against with a sack against the Colts in week 13, breaking the previous record of 12 sacks held by Tony Brackens. This will be Campbell’s third Pro Bowl appearance, with his latest trip to the all-star game being during the 2015 season. This could be just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to awards that should have the name Calais Campbell.

Jimmy Graham

NFL: Houston Texans at Seattle Seahawks
TE Jimmy Graham has been soaring in 2017, flying straight towards his fifth Pro Bowl nod.
Troy Wayrynen-USA TODAY Sports

2017 represented a return to form for TE Jimmy Graham, resembling his prime seasons with the New Orleans Saints from 2010-’14. The last two games hopefully being outliers, Graham has been a dominant redzone threat for the Seahawks throughout the season. Graham’s nine touchdown receptions are the most he has tallied since being traded to the Seahawks three seasons ago. Scoring a tenth touchdown would be his first double-digit TD season since 2014. This will be Graham’s fifth appearance at the Pro Bowl, after earning the honor in 2016.

The 2018 Pro Bowl game returns to the old AFC vs. NFC format. This years, team captains will be: LaDainian Tomlinson, Jason Taylor, Warrick Dunn, and Derrick Brooks. You can catch the Pro Bowl Sunday, January 28th at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida at 3PM EDT.

Congratulations to these ProCanes!