clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ed Reed Named to 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class

Reed gets the call to the hall.

Edward Reed #20

The moniker of the playmaker is already occupied by another ’Canes legend, yet referring to Ed Reed as ‘The Defensive Playmaker’, would not be out of line. Reed has been a leader on every team he’s played for during his illustrious football career. Whether it was zipping out of the deep-half of the secondary to pluck the ball out of midair, or delivering a much needed speech, Reed has an uncanny ability to find the ball and make impact plays for his team at crucial moments.

At a Monday morning press conference, the former UM legend added yet another accolade to an impressive career. The former free safety was named to the College Football Hall of Fame’s 2018 class. Reed becomes the Eleventh Hurricane (eighth player) alumni to be enshrined in the CFB Hall of Fame.

Here is a list of his UM alums to be inducted into the CFB Hall of Fame:

Coach Jack Harding (1980)

Coach Andy Gustafson (1985)

Defensive End Ted Hendricks (1987)

Fullback Don Bosseler (1990)

Safety Bennie Blades (2006)

Quarterback Arnold Tucker (2008) * Played his first year at Miami before transferring to the US Military Academy.

Quarterback Gino Torretta (2009)

Defensive Tackle Russell Maryland (2011)

Coach Jimmy Johnson (2012)

Quarterback Vinny Testaverde (2013)

Leaving his native state of Louisiana, Reed played for UM for four seasons from 1998–2001. Reed still holds numerous school records: 21 career interceptions, four interception return touchdowns, 389 interception return yards, and the most interception return yards in a single season (206). What should not be forgotten is that Reed also blocked four punts, stacked together 288 tackles, forced four fumbles and defended 52 passes during his days with the ‘U’ on his helmet.

Reed was a consensus All-American in both 2000 and 2001 by numerous media outlets. An All-Big East selection in both the 2000 and 2001 season. Reed also shared Defensive Player of the Year honors for the conference in 2001.

Known for making plays when Miami needed it most, Reed will forever be immortalized for an interception return that he finished off against Boston College to help the UM maintain their championship dreams.

One of the better ambassadors for the football program, Reed is usually mentioned among top 50 list of college football’s best to ever play the game. It’s only fitting that Reed would be called to the Hall in his first year of eligibility. Reed was elected to UM’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2012.

If you don’t follow the NFL, Reed continued to have a glorious career, being named to five First-Team All Pro selections, nine Pro Bowls, named 2004 NFL Defensive Player of the Year and winner of Super Bowl XLVII in his home state of Louisiana. Reed becomes eligible for NFL Hall of Fame later this year, with a possible first ballot opportunity to be a part of the 2019 HOF class.

Here is the rest of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class:

Trevor Cobb Rice running back

Kerry Collins Penn State quarterback

Dave Dickenson Montana quarterback

Dana Howard Illinois linebacker

Calvin Johnson Georgia Tech wide receiver

Paul Palmer Temple running back

Matt Stinchcomb Georgia offensive tackle

Aaron Taylor Nebraska offensive guard/center

Charles Woodson Michigan defensive back

Frank Beamer Virginia Tech head coach

Mack Brown North Carolina/Texas head coach

Mel Tjeerdsma Northwestern Missouri State head coach

Reed and the rest of the 2018 class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony December 4th, 2018 in New York City.