clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Canes Hoops: Miami joins field for 2019 Charleston Classic

The Canes return to the preseason tournament they won in 2014

NCAA Basketball: ACC Operation Basketball Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier today, the Charleston Classic announced its eight-team field for next year’s tournament, which includes Miami, Xavier, Florida, Missouri State, Penn State, Saint Joseph’s, Towson and UConn. 4 of the 8 teams competed in the 2018 postseason, with 3 of those teams making the NCAA Tournament (Xavier, Florida and Miami).

Miami last played in the Charleston Classic in 2014, coming away as champions. Other previous winners include Virginia (2015), Villanova (2016), and Temple (2017).

The tournament will take place November 21-24, 2019 in Charleston, SC. A discounted pre-sale is going on now through November 25, in which fans who sign up will receive first access to purchasing all-tournament tickets at up to $25 off. For tickets and other information, go to

The Canes return to the court Saturday at Home against Bethune-Cookman. Tip-off is at 1:00pm, and the game can be seen on the ACC Network.