clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Hurricanes Appear on the Walter Camp Award Watchlist

Richards and Johnson Mentioned Among 50 Best Athletes in College Football

Virginia v Miami Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

Canes Wide receiver Ahmmon Richards and safety Jaquan Johnson appear on the Walter Camp Award watchlist released today. The list includes fifty of the best college football players for 2018.

Miami Athletics released detailed info on these players. Here is their summary of Richards.

“A consensus Freshman All-America and an All-ACC selection two seasons ago, Richards was a dominant force in 2016 when he set the Miami freshman record for receiving yards – besting the mark set by Hurricanes legend Michael Irvin. Richards saw action in just eight games in an injury-riddled 2017, but still managed 439 receiving yards and three touchdowns. In just 21 career games, Richards has totaled 73 receptions, 1,373 receiving yards and six touchdown catches.”

The Miami Athletic Department also previewed Johnson.

“One of the best safeties in America a season ago, Johnson decided to return for his senior season after being named a Second-Team All-America by Sports Illustrated and the AFCA in 2017. He led the Hurricanes with 96 total tackles a season ago, and also tied for the team lead with four interceptions. A Walter Camp Player of the Year semifinalist and a three-time ACC Defensive Back of the week honoree, Johnson has totaled 160 tackles, four forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and six interceptions in 39 career games – he has not missed a game since arriving to Coral Gables in January 2015.”

The Walter Camp Award dates back to OJ Simpson’s playing days in 1968. Linebacker Manti Te’o won the award in 2012, and he’s one of two defensive players to win. Wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald won in 2003. Other wide receivers to win the award include Desmond Howard, Tim Brown, and Rocket Ismail.

The award is presented yearly to the best player in college football as decided by the Walter Camp Foundation.

Walter Camp is generally regarded as the “Father of American football.” He created extremely important rules like the line of scrimmage and the system of downs. All hell would break loose if Camp didn’t reinvent football the way that he did.

Coach Mark Richt received the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award in 2017. For a full list of the 2018 Walter Camp watchlist, visit this link.