clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miami Hurricanes News and Notes: 51st Annual UMSHOF Induction Banquet, Canes Baseball Hosts Bethune-Cookman, NFL Rookie Minicamps

Plenty of Canes content to start your Friday

Twitter/@_23NeverLeft / Cleveland Browns

Good Morning Canes Fam,

Surging Hurricanes Hosts Bethune-Cookman

Hurricanes’ Baseball returns to Mark Light Field this weekend for a three-game series with Bethune-Cookman. Miami was missing a pair of their aces last weekend on the mound, yet still managed to produce a 4-0 record. As a result, the Hurricanes have jumped into the national rankings.

The Wildcats of Bethune-Cookman sport a 16-32 record entering Friday’s tilt. BCU is coming off a 2-0 loss on Wednesday against FIU.

Miami will send right-handed pitcher Brian Van Belle to the mound (3.83 ERA). According to, freshman catcher Adrian Del Castillo has reached base in 41 of 45 games to date.

First pitch is set for 7pm EDT.

The University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Inducts the 2019 Class

On Thursday evening, eight members of the Hurricanes family were inducted into the UM Sports Hall of Fame at the 51st annual HOF banquet. This year’s inductees consisted of:

Cesar Carrillo — Baseball

Constantin Popa — Basketball

Scott Nicholas — Football

Stephen McGuire — Football

Antrel Rolle — Football

Vince Wilfork — Football

Tabia Charles Collins — Track and Field

Dr. Jenny Krawec — Rowing

The voices of the Hurricanes, Joe Zagacki and Don Bailey Jr, received the UMSHOF President’s Distinguished Service Award. Zagacki has been covering the Hurricanes since their 1983 championship season, working everywhere from the sideline to color analyst. After calling 250 consecutive games, the dynamic duo will mark their 20th season broadcasting Hurricanes Football in 2019.

While Trajan Bandy has a couple of seasons left to earn his way into the hall, the cornerback was on hand to receive the Kichefski Scholarship. Named after Walter Kichefski, who served UM as a player, coach and administrator over the course of 56 years. The award is given to the player who most embodies the characteristics of the late Kichefski: Respect for his fellow man, loyalty, dedication, sacrifice, motivation and inspiration. Past winners include Shaq Quarterman, Denzel Perryman, Brad Kaaya, Jonathan Vilma and Jeremy Shockey.

State of Declaration

Given all the optimism with the arrival of offensive coordinator Dan Enos, there’s still questions that remain unsettled entering the summer months. SOTU’s Marsh Thomas highlights one them, detailing the Hurricanes’ struggle to find consistency along the offensive line.

State of the U’s Gabriel Urrutia shines a spotlight on five players on offense that are poised for a breakout in 2019.

The 305 Beat

2020 QB commit Tyler Van Dyke wasn’t too keen initially when he received an offer from the University of Miami. However, David Wilson of the Miami Herald discusses what led to him giving a verbal pledge to UM.

Joe Jackson thought he would go in the second or third round. Instead he was drafted in the fifth. The Miami Herlad’s Barry Jackson discusses the problem of early entrants into the NFL in his latest edition of the Canes six-pack.

To complete the Miami Herald trifecta, Susan Miller Degnan covered last night’s UMSHOF induction ceremony, detailing how each member earned their way into the Hall.

Tales From the Recruiting Trail

Miami’s coaching staff is pounding the pavement on the recruiting trail. Members of Coach Diaz’s staff have been spotted across Broward County, North Florida and Georgia as they attempt to add to their 2020 class. Miami is currently fourth in 247 Sports’ 2020 team rankings.

Welcome to the League Rook!

For some of the Miami’s 2019 NFL Draft, today marks the first day of their orientation to the pro game. It’s day one of rookie minicamp for a group of former Hurricanes.

Baltimore RavensGerald Willis III

Cleveland BrownsSheldrick Redwine, Trayone Gray, Jhavonte Dean

Seattle SeahawksTravis Homer

Minnesota VikingsTito Odenigbo

Non-Revenue Sports

Miami Tennis learned the where and who they be playing this week in their respective NCAA Championship Tournament fields. On the Men’s side, the team will match up against Arizona State in the 1st round of the tourney in Fort Worth, Texas. If the Hurricanes are able to advance, they’ll square off against the winner of the Harvard vs. TCU on Saturday in the second round.

Led by reigning ACC Player of the Year Estela Perez-Somarriba, Miami Women’s Tennis will be in Stillwater, OK to take on Washington State this afternoon at 3pm EDT. A win against the Cougars would set up a date with the winner of Oklahoma State vs. Central Arkansas on Saturday at 3 pm EDT.

UM track and field star Michelle Atherley was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Thursday. Atherley was one of six Hurricanes — Debbie Ajagbe, Carolyn Brown, Selina Dantzler, Samantha Gonzalez and Brittny Ellis — were selected to the 2019 All-ACC Academic Women’s Indoor Track and Field Team.

Go Canes and Have a Great Day!