clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Friday Canes Trivia

Miami Hurricanes v Clemson Tigers Photo by Craig Jones/Getty Images

Congrats to last week’s winner Hefty9, who came up with 8 correct responses. Lots of folks had 7 as well. I tried to mix up 80s/90s/2000s topics with some from deeper in history, and you all responded well. Bravo. Again, I appreciate all of you who play each week.

Last week’s correct answers are as follows:

1) Which of the following schools DOES NOT have more AP national championships than Miami?

b) Ohio State

2) Which of the following was the MVP of the 2001 Sugar Bowl?

d) Ken Dorsey

3) This RB led the Canes with twelve rushing scores in 2005.

c) Tyrone Moss

4) This former Hurricane great was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on August 3, 2013. He helped redefine the defensive tackle position, terrorizing quarterbacks as a Buccaneer and Raider during a thirteen-year NFL career. Who is he?

5) This was Miami’s first All-American selection (in 1950).

c) Al Carapella

6) This former Miami star anchored the center of the Oakland Raiders’ offensive line for fifteen years, and played in six AFC/AFL title games, as well as Super Bowl II. He is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Who is he?

b) Jim Otto

7) This former Canes defensive lineman and Super Bowl champion with the Giants and 49ers set the school record with 4 fumble recoveries in one game.

d) Jim Burt

8) When Jimmy Johnson was hired as head coach in 1984 to replace the recently departed Howard Schnellenberger, from what school did he leave?

a) Oklahoma State

9) The Canes have two Heisman Trophy winners in their illustrious history. Name the winners and the year they won the trophy. Vinny Testaverde 1986; Gino Torretta 1992

10) In 2012, Stephen Morris torched this school’s defense with 566 passing yards, setting a new school record.

c) NC State

Now, on to this week’s questions:

1) This Miami defender picked off Clemson QB Charlie Whitehurst in overtime, preserving Miami’s 36-30 win in Death Valley in 2005.

a) Kenny Phillips

b) DJ Williams

c) Kelly Jennings

d) Brandon Meriweather

2) Miami scored two late touchdowns to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat in a nationally televised game on ESPN against Florida in 1984. At what neutral site was the game played?

a) Jacksonville

b) Orlando

c) Atlanta

d) Tampa

3) Under Howard Schnellenberger, Miami snapped a string of ten straight losses to Notre Dame. In what year did they finally break the streak?

a) 1980

b) 1981

c) 1982

d) 1983

4) In which year did Miami defeat the AP #1 and #2 teams and NOT win the national championship?

a) 1986

b) 1990

c) 2000

d) 2002

5) Before being tapped as Dennis Erickson’s replacement, Butch Davis was the defensive coordinator for which NFL team?

a) Philadelphia Eagles

b) Cleveland Browns

c) New Orleans Saints

d) Dallas Cowboys

6) Which of the following former Canes has NOT been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

a) Jim Otto

b) Cortez Kennedy

c) Russell Maryland

d) Ted Hendricks

7) Who won Big East Rookie of the Year honors in 1997 and set a school record for catches (48) by a freshman?

a) Reggie Wayne

b) Santana Moss

c) Andre King

d) Bubba Franks

8) Who is Miami’s all-time leading rusher?

a) Willis McGahee

b) Ottis Anderson

c) Duke Johnson

d) Edgerrin James

9) To instill the discipline he learned from coaching under Bear Bryant, this Schnellenberger morning ritual was considered a deterrent to breaking team rules.

a) Sunrise Sprint Club

b) the Breakfast Club

c) Morning Madness

d) the Puking Games

10) A senior safety on the 1987 national championship team, I also won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1987 and was a Pro Bowler with the Detroit Lions in 1991. I was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2008 and the UM Ring of Honor in 2009. Who am I?