clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D’Eriq King Named To The Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Another Hurricane receives preseason accolades.

Miami Hurricanes football practice Al Diaz/Miami Herald/Tribune News Service via Getty Images

On Tuesday, Miami Hurricanes quarterback D’Eriq King was named to the watchlist for the Davey O’Brien Award, which is given to the best QB in college football at the end of the season.

King, who transferred to Miami from Houston earlier this offseason, has every Hurricanes fans excited as ever. King’s name being added to the watchlist is no surprise, as he established himself as one of the top quarterbacks and pure playmakers in all of college football during his time at Houston.

In 2018, King threw for 2,982 yards and 36 touchdowns, and was equally impressive using his feet, rushing for 674 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground, setting an AAC Conference record with 50 “touchdowns responsible for”.

Interesting stat, the last three Davey O’Brien winners, Joe Burrow (LSU), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma) and Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), all three were quarterbacks who transferred to new schools. Could King make it 4 in a row?

The last Miami quarterback to capture the award was Gino Torretta in 1992, also brining home the Heisman Trophy Award as well that same season. Vinny Testaverde was the only other player in Miami history to win the award, doing that in 1986.

King was one of four ACC quarterbacks to be named to the watchlist, alongside Sam Howell from UNC, Trevor Lawrence at Clemson, and Micale Cunningham from Louisville.