clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A timeline of Miami QB’s “First FSU Game”

Miami has knocked off FSU for four straight years using four different starting QB’s.

Miami v Pittsburgh Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

It’s FSU Week for the Miami Hurricanes. The 5-4 ‘Canes will head to Tallahassee, FL to face their rival the Florida State Seminoles on November 13th at 3:30pm. Miami holds a 35-30 all-time record against the ‘Noles dating back to 1951.

Over the course of this long rivalry both teams have gone on impressive win streaks including FSU’s seven win streak from 1963-1972 and Miami’s win streak of six games from 2000-2004. Miami currently boasts a four game win streak with four different starting quarterbacks.

Miami v North Carolina Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images

This year’s starting QB will be Tyler Van Dyke. Van Dyke is a freshman sensation that has led Miami to three straight wins while throwing for 15 touchdowns and only four interceptions on the season. Van Dyke replaced the injured D’Eriq King who was 1-0 as a starter vs. FSU.

With Van Dyke getting his first start in an FSU Game on Saturday, let’s take a look back at some Miami QB’s and their first FSU Games from years gone by. You never forget your first time!

1980 Jim Kelly

Miami 10 - no. 9 FSU 9. Future NFL Hall of Fame QB Jim Kelly started off his FSU Game history with a loss, but he wasn’t the starter. In ‘79 Kelly came in to replace Mike Rodrique and scored as part of a failed comeback attempt.

In 1980, Kelly and unranked Miami beat ranked FSU by one point, a Kelly rushing TD. Kelly also beat FSU in 1981. With Kelly injured in 1982, The ‘Noles got the best of Miami and quarterback Mark Richt in a 24-7 ‘Canes loss.

1983 Bernie Kosar

no. 6 Miami 17 - FSU 16. Bobby Bowden’s kicking jinx against Miami started in 1991, but FSU lost to Miami on a last second field goal back in 1983, too. Miami PK Jeff Davis made a game winner to push the ‘Canes to 10-1 while FSU fell to 6-4.

In his first FSU Game, Bernie Kosar threw for over 200 yards and a TD pass to beat the ‘Noles in Tallahassee. Kosar would lose to FSU in 1984, Jimmy Johnson’s first FSU Game as head coach of the Hurricanes.

1985 Vinny Testaverde

no. 11 Miami 35 - no. 10 FSU 27. In a come from behind thriller, junior QB Vinny Testaverde threw four TD passes, including a one yard toss to Brett Perriman to ice the game in Tallahassee. Testaverde was sacked seven times by the FSU defense but the ‘Canes held on to beat the ‘Noles and push their way into a National Championship deciding game against the Tennessee Volunteers. Miami lost the 1986 Sugar Bowl and the Oklahoma Sooners were crowned the ‘85 champions.

1987 Steve Walsh

no. 3 Miami 26 - no. 4 FSU 25. In another comeback for the ages, Steve Walsh threw three TD’s including a bomb to Michael Irvin for the go-ahead score. FSU drove the ball 83 yards down field but Bubba McDowell recorded the PBU on a Danny McManus two point conversion attempt and the ‘Canes held on. Walsh also went on to beat FSU in 1988 in a #1 vs #6 matchup on Labor Day weekend by the tune of 31-0.

1989 Gino Torretta*

no. 8 FSU 24 - no. 2 Miami 10. The Miami Hurricanes were in Tallahassee in 1989, too. The 6-0 ‘Canes were forced into starting freshman QB Gino Torretta with starter Craig Erickson out with an injured hand. Torretta had Miami within four after the first quarter but his four interceptions let FSU take the lead and a fumble on the one yard line sealed Miami’s fate after an FSU 99 yard TD drive.

*Torretta went on to beat the Seminoles in 1991 and 1992 on his way to a National Championship and a Heisman Trophy. In ‘89, Torretta was bested by FSU record setting QB Peter Tom Willis. I put an asterisk next to this one because Torretta was technically the back-up QB in 1989.

1990 Craig Erickson

no. 9 Miami 31 - no. 2 FSU 22. Erickson finally got his FSU game and made sure it was a good one. Erickson led Miami to a 24-0 lead early in the game but FSU did fight back. Miami held on to beat the ‘Noles on over 300 yards rushing, a rarity in the Dennis Erickson spread offense of the 90’s.

The mid-90’s

The mid-1990’s weren’t good to Miami QB’s against FSU. Frank Costa lost in ‘93, but did beat the ‘Noles in 1994. Ryan Clement, Scott Covington and Kenny Kelly couldn’t find the win column against FSU from 1995-1999.

2000 Ken Dorsey

No. 7 Miami 27 - no. 1 FSU 24. Ken Dorsey has made starts in place of an injured Kenny Kelly in 1999, but the sophomore QB had taken over at The U for the 2000 season. Miami had lost a close road game against Washington in Week One, but Dorsey had gotten more comfortable and this time the game was in the Orange Bowl.

Dorsey threw for 328 yards and two TD’s in the ‘Canes upset of the undefeated ‘Noles. It was Miami’s first win over FSU since the 1994 season, and Dorsey’s first of three wins over FSU in his career.

2003 Brock Berlin

No. 2 Miami 22 - no. 5 FSU 14. QB Brock Berlin and PK Jon Peattie pulled Miami out to a 22-0 lead and the ‘Canes held on to beat FSU to remain undefeated. FSU QB Chris Rix threw three TD’s, but one was to legendary Miami safety Sean Taylor who returned Rix pass 49 yards for a TD.

Berlin finished his ‘Canes career 3-0 versus Florida State and 2-0 against his former team in the University of Florida. Berlin worked well in come from behind situations as he was a shotgun QB in high school at at Florida under Steve Spurrier.

The meaningless years for Miami

After trading meaningless wins for a few years, FSU won seven straight games over Miami from 2010-2016. Miami went through many QB’s including Kyle Wright, Robert Marve, Jacory Harris, Stephen Morris, and Brad Kaaya over those down seasons for both Miami and FSU.

2017 Malik Rosier

No. 13 Miami 24 - FSU 20. Miami was at the start of their meteoric rise to no. 2 in the country during the 2017 season when they faced FSU in Tallahassee. The junior quarterback Malik Rosier drove Miami 75 yards including the go ahead 23 yard TD to Darrell Langham with six seconds to go.

2018 N’Kosi Perry

No. 17 Miami 28 - FSU 27. N’Kosi Perry threw four TD passes in a 28-27 victory over FSU in his first and only FSU Game as the starting QB. Perry did fumble twice, losing one, but threw no interceptions in the narrow victory.

2019 Jarren Williams

Miami 27 - FSU 10. Miami and FSU were both unranked in 2019 heading into FSU Week. In his first and only FSU Game as the starting QB, Jarren Williams tossed two TD’s and threw no interceptions in the victory.

2020 D’Eriq King

no. 22 Miami 52 - FSU 10. D’Eriq King threw two TD’s and N’Kosi Perry added another in a route of the Seminoles. Miami added four more TD’s on the ground and intercepted three different FSU QB’s.

Sadly for King, this was his only FSU Game. King is now out for the season and Tyler Van Dyke will get the start against the Seminoles in ‘21. This could (and SHOULD) be five different UM QB’s beating the ‘Noles in five straight years.